The Up There x New Balance 2002R “Backyard Legends II”

The folks “down under” at the Up There Store have been delivering a compelling retail experience since 2010, but have only gained mass global recognition with the help of their collaboration on the New Balance 2002R from June of this year. Before 2022 closes, the Melbourne, Australia-based team will run things back with the launch of the “Backyard Legends II” collaboration. Akin to its predecessor, the latest joint effort between the Aussie cohort and North American institution pays homage to the “backyard legends” that liven up barbecues and other get-togethers with their entertaining athleticism. Up There’s next 2002R proposition abandons the green and purple color scheme that dominated the partnership’s first effort, favoring a more muted mix of maroon and white tones. Suede and mesh materials make up the majority of the pair’s top half, which also features reflective silver and dull neon yellow accents.

The New Balance 860v2 cushioning solution underfoot indulges in a disparate combination of hues, although the inspiration becomes evident via the sneaker’s campaign materials: tennis and cricket balls lend their traditional colors to the “Backyard Legends II” New Balance pair as nods to the sports often played during the aforementioned kickbacks. Lastly, the Up There team makes history again by stamping “AUS” on the tongue. Enjoy a first official look at the pair ahead, as you wait for an in-person launch at the Up There Store on Friday, December 9th, and an online drop on Saturday, December 10th, at 8 a.m. AEDT (Friday, December 9th, at 4 p.m. EDT/1 p.m. PDT).